Labelle Lectureship

Roberta Labelle

Roberta Labelle, left, was one of the Centre's founding members. Her death in 1991 was unexpected and occurred when broad recognition for her research in health economics was just starting to emerge. In memory of Roberta, CHEPA and the Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impacts collaborated on establishing the Annual Labelle Lectureship Series. In the autumn of each year, a health services researcher with emerging recognition and an inter-disciplinary approach to research gives a general interest lecture on a topic in the broadly defined areas of health economics and/or health policy. The Labelle Lecturer is also available for consultations with individuals in and outside McMaster University during the period of his/her visit. An endowment was established to assure the ongoing funding of the Lectureship. Scroll down for a historical list of Labelle Lectures.
2020 Labelle Lecture -- Call for Nominations

The Labelle Lectureship Committee of McMaster University is seeking nominations by August 21, 2020, for a promising junior health services researcher — a rising star in the field — to give the 2020-21 Labelle Lecture. 

Given that many early career researchers have been disproportionately affected by the ongoing pandemic and the scarcity of awards for promising junior researchers, after careful consideration, the Labelle Lectureship Committee has decided not to cancel this year’s Labelle Lecture. Additionally, the Committee has decided to increase the stipend offered to the Lecturer to $2000.

Please submit nominations by August 21, 2020, to Emmanuel Guindon, Chair of the Labelle Lectureship Committee, at  For more information, click the document link, right.

Labelle Lecture Archives

2019: Jennifer Walker
2018: Ruth Lavergne
2017: Dean Spears
2016: Dr. Antoine Boivin
2015: Katy Kozhimannil
2014: Dr. Onil Bhattacharyya
2013: David Stuckler
2012: Dr. Irfan Dhalla
2011: Michael Law
2010: Tamara Daly
2009: Anirban Basu
2008: Sebastian Schneeweiss
2007: Steve Morgan
2006: Pascale Lehoux
2005: Jennifer Prah Ruger
2004: Valerie Steeves
2003: Meredith Rosenthal
2002: Mark Sculpher
2001: Jean-Mane Berthelot
2000: Peter Ubel
1999: Colleen Flood
1998: Lisa Bero
1997: Mandy Ryan
1996: Jane Weeks
1995: Peter Singer
1994: Steven Katz
1993: Alayne Mary Adams
1992: Andrew M. Jones

McMaster University Social Sciences